Dave's Sports Views

Analysis, humor and opinion on the sports world

Location: Dallas, Texas, United States

Monday, January 16, 2006

Oh, THAAAAT rule ...

Now the NFL, after initially saying that Troy Polamalu's non-interception yesterday was a judgment call (and, by inference, a correct call), admits that referee Pete Morelli blew the call by using the wrong rule to interpret whether Polamalu established possession.

The league now says that because Polamalu wasn't touched, the ref should have used the rule that says if a player maintains possession while contacting the turf, he has established control of the ball.

The so-called "football move" rule only applies when the player loses the ball as a result of contact with the opposing team.

If anyone can explain this to me, you have officially won the right to do my taxes this year. And by the way, I'm expecting a big return.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Subscribe with Bloglines